The desire to desperately call somewhere home…..

IMG_20150113_141819

Unlike my other posts, this one is a bit deeper!

Maybe I’m wasting my young years

IMG_20141213_224110

Now that I am the ripe ‘old’ age of 25, I’m starting to see a trend in my friends. That kinda awkward time when half of them are still loosing their phones and handbags on a night out and the other half are buying houses and getting married.

I was never one to follow the crowd but ever since this started I have been evaluating and re-evaluating my life. Graduating college and becoming an adult is hard.

Working for 40hours a week for crap money is hard, especially when you have put the investment of a four year degree into it.

I am sure I am not alone on this, I won’t call it pressure, but it’s a feeling I have been, well, feeling lately.

Half of me wants to pack my bags and head off in  search of my place in the world, to meet people who think like me, to be happy again, really happy, like, care-free kinda happy.

Maybe a small seaside town in the South of France where I can work, grow my veggie garden and enjoy the seaside, or a remote Greek Island where I could run a b&b and enjoy the simple life, slow paced, no pressure.

The other half of me wants to be a business woman and open a shop here in Ireland, buy a house and become half an adult at least. I say half an adult because I will still dress outrageously and have rainbow hair. I want a space to express my personality, a home, a garden.

I am the kinda girl who gets home in the summer and heads straight out into my garden to enjoy it, then , in the winter I get restless because I am cooped up indoors every evening. I hate that!

So, what do I do? Where do I go from here? A big factor is, of course money, which I don’t have! With a college loan and a car loan looming,

I can’t just take off and with the crap wages I’m on, ill never have enough money to open my shop, buy a house, which leaves me back at the start.

So, what is the whole point of this blog post?

If you feel restless………………. You are not alone!

If you feel pressure from society to ‘grow up’…… you are not alone!

If you are not ready to settle down, that’s okay!

If you want to go off on a self indulgent trip to find yourself, that’s okay!

Maybe the answer is, you can have both. Maybe I should head off and maybe I would come back to open my shop here or maybe I would find somewhere on my travels to set up shop.

I hope my ramblings have helped some of you in the same boat as me and please, if you have any advice then comment below.

IMG_20141217_110608

https://www.facebook.com/brennersMcGooBlogger

http://instagram.com/brenda89b/

IMG_20141202_141936

5 thoughts on “The desire to desperately call somewhere home…..

  1. Yes I totally get waves of this! However it has eased the later I get into my 20s if that helps. (Cept when I see that you’re 25 and it makes me question what I’m doing with my life)

  2. So true, so many people are going through the same when you get to this age. Your comments at the end are very reassuring and nice of you to share. With your questions at the end I say follow your dreams. I know there’s obstacles and you can’t just take off or open a business, but it doesn’t have happen over night. Set your goals and work towards them. I decided on my dream career in 2000 and got the job last year with years and years of serious work, commitment and sacrifices along the way but was so worth it. I didn’t let anything stop me, and any negativity pushed me harder to prove everyone wrong to achieve my dreams. Looking forward to your blog in the future about how you set up your shop or how you travelled the world. The biggest thing is, you just need to believe in yourself. Jess x

Leave a Reply

